Bucket List # 21: Learning a Second Language

languageI recently took the first step to knocking one of my more long term goals off my bucket list:  #21  – Learn a Second Language.  There was a deal on Groupon for Babbel.com, which is a website where you can learn a language at your own place.  It has a bunch of short lessons that build on one another, allowing you to move as slow or as quickly as you are capable.  When you use it on a computer a mic is needed, so that it can monitor your pronunciation, and if you are on the go, it has a mobile app that you can use.

This has been one of the things I have wanted to do for a long time.  I learned Spanish in high school (took 2 years), and actually can remember a lot of it.  Since I have a foundation, though maybe slightly rusty, I feel that I should continue on with that language.  As a whole, I think it might come more in handy around where I live.  The thing is though, I think French is such a beautiful language, and I’ve always wanted to learn it (and probably would have if it were an option in high school).  It is on my bucket list to live outside the US, and France is at the top of my list of where I would move to.  I know if I were to move, I would need to know French, but I’m torn that I would not use it as much on a daily basis while I’m living here.  Spanish is the second most spoken language in the US, with French in third, both behind English, but if you look at it on a larger scale, Spanish always falls within the top four spoken languages world wide, behind Chinese (and depending on which study, it can be behind English and Hindi as well).  French does not even fall under the top 10 languages worldwide.  Does this matter?  I don’t know.  What would you choose – A language you could easily continue on with since you already know the basics, and could use more regularly, or starting from scratch a language I would not use frequently here, but would love to learn, and hope to use in the future?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

About scenestealersnyc

Founder of Scene Stealers NYC, social event planner, mommy, blogger, lover of champagne
This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

