Best Educational Toys for a 3 Year Old

Wanna know something about me?  I’m a list maker and a researcher, both to an almost borderline obsessive degree.  When you mix that with the perfectionist trait (thanks dad), it can sometimes cross the line into ridiculous.  Just ask my bf – he once witnessed me re-write an entire shopping list because I had scribbled out my onion count, and now it looked sloppy. Lord help me!  Though this can be a good thing (you better believe that everything I do or buy is well thought out, and the best possible option out there), it can be extremely time consuming.  By website 6 or 7, I want to pull my hair out, but then my mind always asks, “what if the next one I check out has some new, valuable information I haven’t come across yet,” and in the blink of an eye, there goes another hour.

Anyways, enough about me.  Here’s my first list for this blog.  My daughter turned 3 a few months ago, so I tried to knock out her birthday and Christmas list to be sent to family, at once.  I researched for a couple days the most educational toys for a 3 year old, so below are all of the toys that serve an educational purpose, which include toys for both genders.

Best Educational Toys for 3 Year Olds

Leap Frog Scribble and Write LeapFrog Scribble and Write- This is perfect for early writers.  They can learn to write the alphabet by tracing over letters that light up on the screen with a stylus.  When we first got this (for Christmas), my daughter liked using it a lot.  Now that she knows how to write her letters (I Crayola Washable Finger Paintscan say this toy helped in that), now she doesn’t as much.

Crayola Washable Fingerpaints - Helps to develop their gross motor skills, as well as learn their colors.

Melissa & Doug Giant Fire Truck Floor Puzzle Melissa & Doug Giant Fire Truck Floor Puzzle –  This is great for developing problem solving skills, as well as motor skills.  It has large cardboard pieces, so it is very durable, and great for little hands.
Melissa & Doug Doctor Role Play Costume SetMelissa & Doug Doctor Role Play Costume Set – Using their imagination is big and important at this age, so this is perfect for any girl or boy during dress up time.  My daughter loves to play doctor all the time, and guess who gets to relax on the couch playing patient.. yep, mommy!
Kidoozie My first PurseKidoozie My First Purse – A wonderful purse for your lil’ princess to play pretend with.  Great for toddlers and preschoolers.  Brooke loves to carry her purse around, but watch out when bringing this to a playdate.  All the other little girls wanted to steal it from her.
Candy Land Board GameCandy Land Board Game – Known as the classic “child’s first game,” this game is just right for your preschooler.  No reading is required.  It’s a great way to learn and practice your colors, as well as taking turns while playing.  I played this game with my daughter just today.  She loves playing it with mommy and daddy, or she’ll even play all the gingerbread men by herself.
Alex ready, Set, School Activity SetAlex Ready, Set, School Activity Box – Your lovely preschooler will learn skills such as cutting with scissors, tying shoes, and writing their alphabet with this great set.  So much fun!
Melissa and Doug Lace and Trace PetsMelissa & Doug Lace and Trace Pets – This colorful and fun activity promotes hand/eye coordination, fine motor, cognitive and perceptive skills.  The more Brooke does these, the better she gets at it.  She enjoys the different animals that come in the pack.
Learning Resources Pretend and Play Calculator Cash RegisterLearning Resources Pretend and Play Calculator Cash Register – This award winning toy, which runs on solar power, is great for pretend play, as well as building counting and math skills.  My daughter loves “buying things” from around the house with this fun toy.

Melissa and Doug See and Spell Toy

Melissa & Doug See & Spell – This colorful toy is great for learning to recognize your letters, as well for learning spelling for the older kiddos.
Melissa and doug wooden learning clockMelissa & Doug Wooden Shape Sorting Clock – This clock has so many great teaching tools about it.  Your lil’ one can learn their colors, shapes, and numbers, and for the older set, how to tell time.
plasma car toyPlasma Car – This toy has won many awards, with good reason.  It is great indoors as well as outdoors, and requires no batteries, gears, or pedals.  It is great exercise, and so much fun.  My daughter absolutely loves this toy that she calls her “race car”!

The ones that I have not received yet as gifts, I still intend on buying for her for all their educational purposes.   Hope this helps anyone shopping for their or someone’s 3 year old!

Reblogged from SimplyBubbly.com

About scenestealersnyc

Founder of Scene Stealers NYC, social event planner, mommy, blogger, lover of champagne
This entry was posted in Parenting, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best Educational Toys for a 3 Year Old

  1. Pingback: The Preschooler and the Pen – How Early is Too Early to Teach Writing | wordsofhisheart

  2. Velissa Vim says:

    Finding and buying quality toys for small children is tough. Your suggestions are highly appreciated. Thanks for helping the parents in selecting toys for their kids. http://www.besttoysforyourchild.blogspot.com.

  3. You have a great list here, my children loved Candy Land – actually it was a favourite in our house because it could be played by the whole family.

  4. I like the helpful info you provide on your articles. I’ll
    bookmark your blog and check once more here regularly.
    I’m relatively sure I will be told plenty of new stuff proper here!

    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

