Healthy Recipe: Strawberry Banana Smoothie

This past May I did my first Juice Fast as a means to jump start my body and digestive tract (have done a second one since).  For as long as I could remember I have always suffered from having what I call a “Sensitive Tummy”.  I would get painful bloating, where my stomach would protrude, and have actually been mistaken for being pregnant.  And if that doesn’t sound awful, there would always be the complete opposite response to food, which was just as uncomfortable – upset stomach.  It had been long enough that I had dealt with these symptoms, so I decided to do a juice cleanse to give my digestive tract a break, then follow that up with some changed eating habits.  I had been eating healthier since the beginning of the year (or at least monitoring my calorie count), but now it was time to really incorporate the true good stuff – grains, veggies, fruits, and fish more so than ever.

Since the start of my Detox Diet (which is now not as strict as a so called detox diet – just healthy eating), it rekindled the love I once had for smoothies.  I have been experimenting with a bunch of different fruits and flavors, and here is one of my favorites.  This recipe is a great basic smoothie, that is easy to modify to your taste:

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  • 1 cup coconut water (for a creamier smoothie, you can use milk/soy milk/almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats/quick cooking oats (organic)
  • 1 banana, broken into chunks
  • 14 frozen strawberries
  • 2 teaspoons of honey

In a blender, add oats first.  Blend until a powdery consistency.  Add coconut water, banana and strawberries. Add honey. Blend until smooth. Pour into glass/es and serve.

Some modifications:  If you would like to make it sweeter, you can add vanilla extract or sugar.  To make it even healthier, you can add flaxseed.  To add a different, slight tart flavor, you can add orange juice instead of the coconut water.  Also, feel free to mix the fruits up.  This is a very basic, and versatile recipe, perfect for breakfast, or a snack.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

