Exercise, Let’s Be Friends

Yep.  That’s me.  Exercise has never been a good friend of mine.  I am phenomenal at making up excuses when exercise is involved.  I once had a free gym membership for 3 months.  You know how many times I went, 3 times – and those were all in the first month.  My excuse, “It is all the way in the city.”  The truth – Probably 25 minutes without traffic, and I am in the city a few times a week for other reasons anyways.  Pathetic, I know.  At times I can convince myself that hanging out with my daughter gets me some of my much needed exercise, but walks to the park, and dancing in the living room definitely doesn’t compare in calories burned to 30 minutes on an elliptical.  I’ve gotten really good at telling myself that there is just no time, which is half true.  I’m with my daughter during the day, then with cooking dinner, events, Bret’s outings, spending time with Bret, and as a family, it really doesn’t leave that much time to travel into the city and exercise.

Don’t get me wrong, when I am there, I don’t mind the gym.  It is the motivation to get there that kinda lacks.  But when I think a little deeper, ultimately, I don’t think I am a gym person.  I am much happier doing activities that don’t feel like exercise – a nice bike ride, hiking, dance lessons, kayaking – you get the picture.  I incorporate those things into my life, but not to the level that I can say that I get regular exercise.

Since the beginning of the year, I have added many healthier practices into my life.  When it comes to food, I think I do a pretty good job of eating pretty healthy.  A lot of vegetables, fruits, fish, whole grains, the works.  I allow myself cheat days to eat what I want, which I typically save for when I dine out so I can truly enjoy the food (I would not feel satisfied if I went to a fancy restaurant and ordered a salad – no offense if you do – more power to you for eating healthy at all times).  As a result, I have lost around 25-30 pounds, and feel really wonderful.  But I know that eating healthy is not the only thing needed to be truly healthy and happy.  Being active needs to be there as well.

So here I am midway through my year of transformation, ready to commit to adding in regular activity into my life.  No more excuses.  Here are the ways I intend to do so:

1.  Start Small – I plan to start off small, and build up to more.  Research shows that if you bite off more than you can chew, you are more likely to fail.

2.  Substitute Healthier Activities for Unproductive Ones – Such as watching tv.  Though I don’t watch that much tv, I will incorporate some jumping jacks during commercials.  The way I see it, there is no activity too small.

3.  Put it on my Calendar – When I have events or activities on my calendar, I always do them because I have planned for them.  If I have activity time planned into my day, I know that I will actually do it.

4.  Set a Goal – So far I have been good about setting goals for other things, so for being more active I will set goals for myself.  My first goal:  Schedule in at least 4 days of activities per week.  Second goal:  Lose at least 2 pounds a month until goal weight.

5.  Exercise with Bret and others – Since Bret has started playing soccer again on a league, he has started to do some exercises while watching tv.  Up until this point, no I have not joined him, but I will.  I have no excuse.

6.  Post my goals so they are easy to see – I spend a lot of time in front of this computer, so my goals will be posted right next to my monitor for me to see.

7.  Plan Meetups – This kinda combines exercising with others, and putting it on the calendar.  I run a couple very active meetup groups, and I am extremely diligent that if I post a meetup on there, I am there.  So if I plan some meet ups that incorporate exercise or active activities (I have done this with yoga), then I will definitely be there.  I can’t make excuses when I am organizing it.

8.  Keep a Positive Mindset – If I keep positive, and tell myself daily that I can do it, I will.  Let’s go to town on these self affirmations.

So there you have it.  These are the ways that I will make exercise a part of my life.  I am putting this out there to everyone so I can not make any more excuses, and I will be keeping you posted on things I do, and how this goes.  I feel confident that if I can change my eating habits, then this will be no different.

Feel free to hold me accountable, show your support, or offer up any advice through your comments!

This entry was posted in Healthy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exercise, Let’s Be Friends

  1. Pingback: Incorporating Exercise into my Life – The Follow Through with Tips | Haute∙Healthy∙Happy

  2. Pingback: Incorporating Exercise into my Life - The Follow Through with Tips | Simply BubblySimply Bubbly

Leave a Reply

