Recipe: Goodbye Hersheys, Hello Homemade Fat-Free Chocolate Syrup

Most mornings when I wake up, I make my daughter a bottle of milk, and myself a cup of coffee.  On this particular morning I realized that I had run out of my flavored creamer (mmm cinnamon bun flavored creamer).  I typically only use a tablespoon or two to give it a nice sweetness that’s low on calories, but since there was none to be found, I had to go with plan B.  With thoughts of chocolate looming in my head, I figured I would make a homemade chocolate syrup that I could mix with my coffee.  Warning:  After trying this, you’ll never want to go back to Hershey’s chocolate syrup.

Fat-Free Chocolate Syrup

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 2/3 cups white sugar
  • 1 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a medium saucepan (make sure to use this size so that it does not boil over) over medium heat, combine cocoa, sugar and water. Bring to a boil and let boil 1 minute, while stirring. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

(It will not be thick right after cooking, but will thicken up after a few hours)

So simple, yet so delicious.  It is fat-free, cheap to make, and oh so rich.  This is a syrup that is perfect to use as an ingredient in other recipes, or in chocolate milk.  If you would like to make this into more of a sauce to put on desserts, etc., you can substitute milk in the place of the water, and add in corn syrup to thicken it up into a sauce.  Enjoy!

 

Homemade chocolate syrup

For some reason it looks red, but here is my iced coffee mixed with the homemade chocolate syrup!

Courtesy of allrecipes.com

This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

