The Small Things: Letting Kids Be Kids

On a recent excursion to the nearby town of Hoboken, My Mini-me and I had a lovely afternoon of mommy-daughter time.  The sun was bright, the temperature perfect, and humidity low – couldn’t ask for more than that.  We enjoyed a lunch at Energy Kitchen (so glad this restaurant is not next door to me, I literally would be broke).  Everything on the menu is under 500 calories, but tastes like it packs 1,200. Very good!  We then headed to the pier that is overlooking the city.  A truly gorgeous view of skyscrapers kissing the cloudless blue sky, with the reflection of the sun glistening off the gentle wake of the sailboats cruising along down the Hudson River.  For those that scoff at New Jersey, that is definitely something that the New Yorkers don’t have – the view.

After relaxing on the grass, pretending a giant pavilion was a parachute, dancing in the gentle wind, and making friends with some friendly musicians, we were headed towards the train to head home when we came across a fountain.  There were children playing in it, and I knew once Brooke saw that she’d want to join in as well.  They had all come prepared with bathing suits, towels, and the like, and all I had was another dress scrunched in the bottom of my purse I bring everywhere “just in case”.  I could have said no, but it had been the perfect day, so why not let her just enjoy herself.  So I did, and of course she had a blast.

A gentleman walked by and said, “My wife and I were just enjoying watching your daughter having a great time in the fountain.  We think it is great that you let her go in fully dressed.  Would you like me to take a picture of you both?”  I said I would love that, and he snapped away taking pics of us.  I know I could have gotten funny looks with her walking around in a drenched dress, and dripping hair, but the smile on her face always means more than that.  So I let my kid be just that, A kid.

My name

This entry was posted in Happy, Parenting, The Small Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Small Things: Letting Kids Be Kids

  1. jpcmc says:

    What a lovely time you and your daughter had. Small things do matter. It’s these small things that make gret impact. I’m a new dad and I’m loving it. I try to spend as much time as I can with my daughter.

    • Becoming a parent, and having a child of your own, is truly one of the most amazing feelings in the world. Congratulations on becoming a daddy, and cherish all the moments you can with your lil’ one. One day all the sleepless nights, spitting up, and crazy diaper changing will be a distant memory, and you’ll wonder where the time went. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

