The Importance of Sleep

Every day we hear all about the importance of healthy eating and being active.  This is not to say that those two things are not important, but sleep should also be included with those lifestyle habits regularly.  I’m sure we all know we don’t feel the best, or in top form, when we have a late night, and don’t get the hours of sleep we normally do, but did you know that most people do not get the recommended amount of sleep that they should,  and that it not only affects you the next day, but in the long term it is really detrimental to your health?

I came across this today on yourlocalsecurity.com, and thought that this would be wonderful to share.  It is a bit harsh, but sometimes being blunt and straight to the point is necessary, and when our health is in question, I can’t think of a better time for a little tough love.

Sleeps effects on the body

I personally can attest to this.  Over the course of the past couple of months I have tried to incorporate more sleep (8 hours at least), and on the days that I get those hours of sleep, I feel so much better when waking up.  For me it took a combination of eating healthy (cutting down on meat, processed food, and dairy), and slowly adding in daily activity (still a work in progress making this a habit), which has enabled my mind to rest when I lay down for bed, and fall asleep rather quick.  From someone who suffered from lack of sleep, taking one to two hours to fall asleep, tossing and turning, and waking up each time I did, last night, I slept like a baby.  Seriously, try it for a week.  Get 8 hours of sleep each night.  You’ll never want to go back.

Are you getting enough sleep?

My name

This entry was posted in Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

