Healthy Recipe: Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I was feeding Brooke her lunch when she asked for an Oreo (note to self – don’t introduce anymore sweets into the house).  She absolutely loves those, and with having an auntie that works at Kraft, we have had way more Oreos in this house than we ever should have.  I told her a white lie that we had no more, and that we should bake some cookies.  She jumped at the idea, which worked out for me as well, since I too had a craving for something sweet, and if I baked it myself, I could make it healthy.  With the help of Brooke (she is master stirrer), this is what I came up with:

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

3 tablespoons nonfat yogurt
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 egg
1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3 tablespoons flaxseed meal
1 1/2 cups oats
1/2 cup chocolate chunks (use at least 70% cacao – I chopped up a chocolate bar, but you can use chocolate chips if you would like)
Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray.
2.  Mix together the nonfat yogurt, brown sugar, agave, egg and water thoroughly.
3.  Sift together the dry ingredients then stir in the oats. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix. Add chocolate chunks to mix.
4.  Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the cookie sheet (I made 10 cookies, but I like larger cookies). Bake 12 to 15 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

These turned out so delightful.  You can easily add in dried fruits in the place of the chocolate, but I think the chocolate made the cookie.  Enjoy!
My name
recipehealthy recipes
This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

