Healthy Recipe: It’s All About the Green Sauce!

I love Sauce!  Sauce is what makes the meal as far as I am concerned.  If I can dip it, drench it, slurp it up, I am a happy woman.  I was relieved to find that someone else shared this same obsession with sauce as myself.  Over at The Talking Kitchen, they offered up this delicious recipe of chicken and green sauce.  After reading the ingredients, most of which I could pull from my garden (ok, my boyfriend’s garden), I could not wait to give it a try.  Here is the recipe, with the modifications I made:

Spice Rubbed Chicken with Green Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Rub

  • 1 T smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Green Sauce

  • 1 c. packed fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/2 c. packed fresh mint leaves
  • 1/2 c. packed fresh tarragon leaves
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1 + 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper powder
  • 2 T honey
  • 2 T Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 c. Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8- 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions

Preheat the grill (or grill pan) to high.

In a small bowl, combine the paprika, cumin, mustard, salt and pepper.

Add 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil to the preheated pan, or make sure your grill is prepped. Rub the chicken breasts (on one side) with the rub and place on the grill/pan, rub side down. Grill about 5 minutes. Flip chicken and continue cooking for another 2 minutes on high heat, then turn the heat to low, cover and finish cooking for another 5-6 minutes. Transfer the chicken to a plate and immediately drizzle with green sauce. Let rest 5 minutes.

To make the sauce, simply combine the herbs, garlic and cayenne pepper in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Next, add the honey, dijon, salt and pepper, pulse until combined. While the motor is running, add in the oil.

This chicken is to die for.  The sauce is unique, and so incredibly flavorful.  I served it with a Latin-flavored quinoa side, which worked perfectly with the taste of the spices on the chicken.  If you would like to make it a tad healthier, you can bake the chicken at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.  My boyfriend thought it was really great as well.  My advice to you is to make extra, because it’ll be gone in no time!

My name

Healthy Chicken RecipeHealthy Chicken Recipes

This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

