Lemon Orzo Soup, with a Side of Inspiration

Now that my sickness is diminishing, so is my willpower.  When I went from the Smoothie Diet to Vegan, it was easy because I was just so freakin’ happy to put a piece of food in my mouth, and could care less that it was from the Kale variety.  Now that I was sick, and Bret (my bf) cooked dinners last week containing meat, and I made some delicious apple cinnamon mini cupcakes to thank him, it is proving quite tough to go back to strictly vegan.  A couple days ago I was looking through the fridge, and all I wanted to make was something with cheese and meat (followed by some chocolate, mmm…), but I didn’t.  You know why?  I weighed myself, that’s why.  Just from sitting on my ass for a week, and eating my cravings, I gained 2 of the 4 pounds back that I had lost.  I was so proud to break into the 150’s, and I could almost taste the victory of hitting 155, and going shopping to celebrate.  Now, I sit back at 160. ugh.

 

Now is when all those inspirational quotes need to come into play, so here are a couple:

 

Empowering QuoteThank you Spark People for the reminder

Inspirational QuoteHere, here to that!

Today I made it to the gym.  Go me!  So while I have the strength to pull through this vegan week again, here is another delicious Vegan recipe for you:

Lemon Orzo Soup

Inspired by Sprinkled with Flour Recipe

  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Large Onion, Chopped
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole Lemon, Zested And Juiced
  • 1 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 teaspoon Dried Basil
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Lemon Pepper
  • 2 cups Fresh Spinach Leaves, Packed
  • 2 cups Fresh Asparagus, cut into 2″ pieces
  • 1-1/2 cup Uncooked Orzo Pasta
  • 8 cups Vegetable Or Chicken Broth
  • 2 Tablespoons Water
  • 1 Tablespoon Cornstarch

 

Heat the oil in a large pot on medium high. Add the onion and garlic and cook for 3-4 minutes until fragrant. Add the lemon zest, red pepper flakes, basil, and lemon pepper, and cook another 3 minutes until the onions are tender and translucent. Turn the heat to medium and add the spinach, asparagus, and orzo. Cook for 1 minute and then add the broth and lemon juice.

 

Bring to a light simmer and cook for 12-15 minutes until the orzo is barely tender. Whisk the water and cornstarch in a small bowl. With the soup at a light boil, whisk in the cornstarch mixture and stir rapidly. Allow the soup to thicken, about 3 minutes, or until your desired thickness.

 

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this soup (he even asked if there was more so he could take it to work).  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

 

Simply Bubbly's Lemon Orzo Soup

This picture was actually taken the day after, so the orzo has absorbed most of the broth. Still super delicious the day after though!

This entry was posted in Health, Inspire Me, Recipes, The Diet Guinea Pig and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

