40 Day Challenge, AKA Lent

Lent - 40 day challengeSo lent started a couple weeks ago, and this is the first time I will actually participate .  I’m not technically of the appropriate religion, so I will refer to it as the 40 Day Challenge.  These days I just call myself spiritual, since the religion I was baptized as a child, I chose to be defiant of my parents.  My mother is Catholic.  My father is Episcopal.  Me – I chose my church when I was in elementary school because my best friend went there. 

 

My boyfriend is Catholic, and has always participated in lent since I’ve known him, so this year I wanted to get in on the action.  He let me know he was giving up chips and soda, which didn’t phase me.  It wasn’t until he added in that he was giving up tv as well that I realized this was no joke.  What the heck were we supposed  to do after dinner now?  Who will I discuss the inner workings of Rick’s psychological demise on the Walking Dead with?  How are we to fantasize about buying a fixer upper and turning it into our dream home without watching Property Brothers together?  After a much needed debate was given on my behalf about the bonding we do by the bright light of the good ole’ picture box, he gave into one movie a week we can bond over.

 

Since my boyfriend is determined to make this happen, I have thought up my own 40 day challenge.  For the next 40 days I will:

 

1)  Send or say a nice message or compliment to someone in my life each day.

2)  Drink more water while drinking alcohol.

3.  Get off a stop earlier so I have to walk more (weather permitting)

 

Are you you doing anything for Lent?  What are you giving up, or incorporating more of, for your 40 Day Challenge?

 

Comments are always welcome!

WYCQK32U7EEJ

This entry was posted in Inspire Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment