Goodbye Vegan, Hello Paleo (Vegan Stuffed Peppers Recipe Included)

Diet 2 Completed!  I was Vegan for over a month, minus a couple slip ups and cheat days.  My thoughts- it had its ups and downs.  Here is an overview of my experience:

 

The Good

-I tried a variety of new legumes, and learned that you can pretty much add spinach to any dish.

-Once I learned some substitutions, I was able to come up with some really enjoyable recipes.  If I were dedicated enough to continue on, I am sure I would have found a good cheese substitute to punch up some of the dishes.

-My digestive tract was good (easy, healthy visits to the old el bano).

-I slept relatively well while on it.

-I lost some weight.  I lost 5 pounds, then put on 2 pounds when I was sick and lazy.  End weight: 160.

-A new understanding for the Vegan lifestyle.

 

The Bad

-I didn’t get as much energy as I’d hoped.  I’m not sure why, but it didn’t really rejuvenate me.

-I missed meat!  Of course I hate that animals are mistreated so humans can enjoy a meal, wear tested makeup, and wear couture fashion, and  I can understand how it could be better for the environment if everybody ate plants.  The problem is I know myself, and I don’t have the passion to make this my permanent lifestyle.  There really has to be a fire within that drives you, and though I may be more apt to significantly cut down the amount of meat and seafood I consume in the future, for now, I’m not entirely ready for the commitment.  Also, as the diet guinea pig, I still have a bunch more diet/lifestyles to try on for size.

 

On that note, I actually asked my boyfriend’s opinion on what diet he would like to partake in next, and he was pretty gungho about giving Paleo a try.  Yes, I realize it seems quite contradictory, but since I do miss having meat on the menu, and he is trying to work out more (and sees a protein rich diet as the way to go while doing so), Paleo it is.  Before I get all carnivorous on you, here’s another Vegan recipe for you to enjoy.

 

Vegan Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

4 red bell peppers, halved length-wise
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
5 cloves garlic, smashed and minced

½ c. pine nuts

2 tomatoes, chopped

1 c. brown rice, cooked
1 c. mushrooms, chopped
2 c. spinach, roughly chopped

1 tbsp cumin
1 tsp. parsley

1 tsp basil

1 15oz can tomato sauce, halved

 

Instructions

 

Cook the rice according to the instructions on the package. Meanwhile, Preheat oven at 375.  Cut peppers in half lengthwise.   Scoop out seeds and place cut side up in a shallow baking dish. Bake about 15 minutes, or until they’re soft, but they still retain their shape.

 

In a large saucepan, heat the extra virgin olive oil over medium.  Add the garlic and onion, and sauté gently for several minutes.  Add tomatoes and pine nuts to skillet and saute about 5 to 7 minutes.  Add the spinach and mushrooms and cook a few minutes more, just long enough to wilt the spinach. Stir in the now finished rice, parsley, basil, cumin, and half the can of tomato sauce.  Mix together, and cook 5 minutes.

 

Spoon mixture into the peppers.  Pour the remaining tomato sauce on the bottom of the baking dish.  Place stuffed peppers into the dish and bake, covered, for about 15 minutes.

 

This dish is chocked full of great ingredients, and oh so filling.  I was stuffed after eating just one.  If you wanted to, you could jazz it up with a little vegan cheese on top, but honestly, you won’t miss it if you don’t have it.  Enjoy!

 

Interested in more Vegan recipes, check out the ones that I liked HERE!

 

Vegan Stuffed Peppers - Simply Bubbly

 
This entry was posted in Health, Recipes, The Diet Guinea Pig and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment